Homonhon Island, Guiuan, Eastern Samar

I usually spend my summer at home reading books, watching movies and doze myself with sleep and music, a way not to feel the boredom and not to feel blue for not being away, on beaches and having a summer blast. But it was totally different this time, it wasn’t my first out of town but it was the most amazing trip ever and blasting with wonderful experience I will always keep within.

1

Homonhon Island is an island located in Guiwan, Eastern Samar. The island played a part in Philippine History. It was the first island which Ferdinand Magellan first set foot on his way to rediscover the Philippines on his expeditions. They were out of food and were forced to make a landing. Since the island was uninhabited that time. It was abundant with food, enough to supply their whole voyage and the story goes on…

magellan

Back to my trip! 😀

Our journey was long, sweaty and a hardcore one but it’s all worth it. From the mainland Guiwan, Eastern Samar, we rode a pump boat that took us to a 3-4 hours ride before we have finally reach the land of Homonhon.

2823558217_114bfc1d2f

When our feet finally touched down the island, I was really really exhausted, hungry (and wet look from the splashing big waves while we’re riding at the pump boat) but too excited. (Ehehe, you can’t blame me. It’s my first time there and hoping it won’t be the last time.)

I didn’t take much time to rest. I started wandering on my first day.

duo

Pampangon ❤

 

1557447_10202050153801964_7717518612292342655_n

Pampangon- My most favorite spot in the island.

Meet Justin, a witty smart brilliant bot who lives on the island.

Meet Justin- a witty, brilliant boy who lives in the island.

Waiting for the sunset 🙂

Pampangon

Pampangon

Pampangon

Pampangon's Sunset

Pampangon’s Sunset ❤ ❤ ❤

We stayed in a particular barangay named Canuwayon (I’m not sure with the spelling, sorry 🙂 ) The actual plan was to stay there for a week and to experience their kind way of fiesta but instead of sticking with the one week vacation plan, we extended for another week because a week is never and will never be enough to explore the whole island. Too bad, I was only given enough time to explore 2 Barangays. (There’s always a next time! Praying  XD )

A view from my island home.

A view from my island home.

Canuwayon's Sunset

Canuwayon’s Sunset

Their fiesta is every forth Saturday and Sunday of April. Everyone is on their festive mood, gathered on the open plaza which also serves as their basketball court. It was a fun-filled event full of laugher, dancing and drinking (of course!). One thing that is very unique with their celebration is there native dance known as Coracha. It’s when a guy pays for 50Php for him to have a chance to dance the girl he admires. The barangay officials are the one who collects the fees.  (Coracha is their own version of what we called fund raising)

Everyone was so game. When the guy chooses the girl, the barangay official will announced it and the two will dance at the center of the plaza until the music ends. While the people around them will toss some 20 peso bill while they’re dancing. Some tosses higher amount of bills depending on how much they enjoyed watching the dance. So if you’re dancing and gets a lot, it means you’re a good dancer. (Or too funny to watched) 😀

10177982_275780412600501_3135397191770540836_n

The only decent picture I have during the dance.

Some of my new male friends whom I’ve only meet there, ask me to become their partner. Since I was a dayu (visitor) I was oblige to say yes and dance the Coracha (Ahaha, I don’t even know how). It was really a funny experience, all I did at the center of the crowd was to laugh and laugh and flap my hands. (Sayaw boang/dance like crazy) It was embarrassing yet it was really really fun. I had the chance to flap and wiggle my limbs for 10’Th times (10 different partners) and I did get a lot of bills (Yay! Ahaha, lucky I was a dayu)

The people there also loves’ to cha-cha, so expect some guys to ask you for a cha-cha number till you drop. You don’t have to feel sorry if you don’t know the dance; they are more than willing to teach you how. 😉

So the whole dancing experience was really wonderful. I even slept around 4A.M. (evidence that I really enjoyed it).

10176171_10202050153041945_7459713382664729534_n

Ciao!

Homonhon Island has a lot of secluded beaches and I did get a chance to visit and explore some, stay tuned on the second part of this blog. I don’t want to make my first blog too long. So I’ll cut this Homonhon journey for now. Thank you for reading! See you soon :*

majxx ❤

Leave a comment